August 22, 2019

Angelina County Republican Party Welcomes Officeholders to GOP

For more information, contact Lee Miller at MSGPR at 936-637-7593 ext 21 or Photos available.


Angelina County Republican Party Welcomes Officeholders to GOP

January 7, 2011 – Lufkin TX – The Angelina County Republican Party officially welcomed the following local elected officials in to the Republican Party Friday in a mid-morning signing.

Reba Ellison Squyres, District Clerk

Jo Ann Chastain, County Clerk

Thelma “Midget” Sherman, County Tax Collector-Assessor

Rick Harrison, Precinct 1 Commissioner

Belton Wayne Havard, Precinct 3 Constable


The text of the formal signed document read:

“We the undersigned office holders in Angelina County, Texas are changing our party affiliation from Democrat to Republican.  The Democrat Party no longer reflects our values and our conservative principles – it moved, we have not.  We are more aligned with the Republican Party principles and platforms and wish to be identified with them.”

“Our decision is not based on a disagreement with the local Democrat Party or its members.  We feel abandoned and disenfranchised by the liberal State and National party.  Our friends and most of our constituents have already changed their party affiliation to the Republican Party – we join them.”

“We are proud and honored to have these five individuals affiliate with the Republican Party in Angelina County,” according to Robert Flournoy, Angelina County GOP Chairman.  “Like most of us in East Texas, they are unhappy with the ultra liberal agenda of the National Democrat Party.  The Republican Party represents their values and principles.  We are glad to have them come over to our side and continue to work for a more conservative county, state and nation.”

Angelina County Republican Party meets on the second Tuesday of most months. Their next meeting is scheduled for February 8, 2011 at 6:00 pm in the Angelina Chamber Community Room. More information is available on the web at