August 22, 2019


MONTGOMERY, TEXAS – Bob Harper was named Texas Forestry Association’s Ed Wagoner Leadership Award winner at the Association’s annual convention held at La Torretta Resort and Spa in Montgomery, Texa on October 2-6-28, 2016.

Harper received the award in honor and recognition of leadershop, time and personal attention to the success of the many TFA programs.He has been a TFA member for 28 years, a life member, and he is a past president. He serves on the TFA Board of Directors and the TFA Executive Committee as well as serving as a Board of Director on the Educational Fund. He has served over the past many years as chair and a member of numerous committees that include Tree Farm, Annual Meeting, Administration, Communications.

“Today, we want to recognize his leadership in establishing and serving as the first chairman of the Texas Accredited Forester Council,” Mike Hamilton, TFA Immediate Past President said. “When the need to organize this new council was identified and approved by the TFA Executive Committee in 2014, it was clear that he was the right person to lead this effort.”

Harper accepted the challenge and held many planning meetings organizing and laying the foundation for a successful program to recognize professional foresters that operate in the state of Texas. The Council became active in 2016 and to date there are — foresters who are Texas Accredited Forester Council members.

“This program recognizes foresters who have the forestry educational and experience we feel are needed to be called an Accredited Forester,” Hamilton said. “I am pleased to announce that this Council is well on the path of being a very successful program within TFA. It gives me great pleasure to recognize Bob for what he has meant to forestry and to the Association. His leadership is immeasurable.”

Bob Harper accepts the Ed Wagoner Leadership Award during the annual convention for the Texas Forestry Association held at La Torretta Resort and Spa in Montgomery, Texas on Oct. 26-28, 2016. Presenting the award is Mike Hamilton, TFA Immediate Past President.